What are Prune Messages

  • If you are a server admin, or your admin has given you the clean-channel-history permission, the prune messages option allows you to delete messages from a channel swiftly.

Note: Messages and files deleted with this option are deleted forever and cannot be recovered.

Use the following parameters to delete specific messages:

  • Newer than: Deletes all messages posted after a particular date.

  • Older than: Deletes all messages posted before a particular date.

Fill dates for both the Newer than and Older than fields to delete all messages.

  • Users: Allows you to specify any users to delete the content. When filled with a username, that user’s messages deleted.

Refine the parameters above with the following options. Check each to enable:

  • Inclusive: Deletes all messages that land on the exact start/end times you have specified in the Newer than and Older than fields.

  • Exclude pinned messages: Do not delete pinned messages.

  • Only remove the attached files, keep messages: Removes files but not the messages themselves